Skip to content

and AWAAAayyyy we go…

01/08/2010

Peace Cool World,

So, this wedding planning thing isn’t as complex as I’d expected it to be.  I’ve watched all the bridal shows on the WE network. I’ve been surfing blogs and websites, collecting bridal magazines like I’m single handedly trying to prevent print magazines from going the way of the unicorn (uh, EXTINCT).

During this whole process, I’ve learned two things…

1. Its really NOT that difficult.

Withing thirty days, my King and I had secured a date,  church, a recption venue, bridesmaides, groomsmen, colors, wedding dress and theme. Now, maybe I’m missing something, but itsn’t that really all there is to do? The rest is in in the tiny details that no one remembers anyway….right?

2. the BRIDAL INDUSTRY is making  A LOT of money!!!!!

The average magazine cost about $3.99…right? Well BRIDAL mags average about $6.99 . Some are as expensive as $9.99! I found one quarterly that cost $20! WHAT THE HEEZY?

Now, for all that extra moola, I would think that they’d be chocked full of helpful information, meaningful hints or gold leafed pages. WRONG! Bridal mags have even MORE advertisments than run-of-the-mill publications. Crazy! IF I see ONE MORE add for designer dresses or cookie cutter invites, I’m gonna hurl! You have to actually SEARCH for the articles becasuse they look just like the advertisments. Its sickening.

Google “bride”, “bridal”, or “wedding” .  227,000,000 pages come up! Maybe I’m in the wrong business, huh? I’m sure that there’s is some niche area of the bridal market that I can claim as my own to build an empire (insert evil laughter here).

In all my research and planning I have come across a few gems…

But for those, Cool World, you’ll have to wait until next time.

In the meantime,

Be Cool, world.

-CC

2 Comments leave one →
  1. Jay permalink
    01/19/2010 5:40 am

    Word? Wedding mags are banging like that??? I would apply to work for one but I think I might hat myself if I were to actually get the job…lol

  2. 01/21/2010 5:14 am

    I’m glad that it’s been breezy for you so far!

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

