Skip to content

ATL or bust!

04/01/2008

spaceball.gifSo, my job transferred me to Hartfield-Jackson back in December. Its crazy cause as all of my closest friends were moving to ATL, I was the one sayin’ “I’m NOT goin’! You can’t make me go!” But here I am…apartment shopping, trying to get the funds together to move.

Its been a  frustrating road. I’ve never lived outside of Michigan. But this commute is seriously messin’ with my cool… Disturbing quality of life. I find that I live in my “dress blues” (my navy blue Flight attendant’s uniform). I’m either flying TO Atl to work, AT work, or flying FROM work. There isn’t much time for much else. The other inconvient thing is that because this is a new base for my company, there aren’t as many open shifts for me to pick up so I’m not making as much money as I did back in DTW.

I’ve found a compatible roommate in one of my homegurls who moved to ATL last year. The thing is…our schedules are just as incompatible as a kangaroo mating with a kitten. It’s been hard trying to find time to even look for a place to live. I’ve been scouring Craigslist trying to find a place between nthe airport and Cumberland mall (where the roomie works). It hasn’t been an easy task and now we’re on the thirty day countdown…cause both of out leases are up on May 1st.

I’m so ready to have a life again. Find an African dance , or yoga or creative writing class. Go out to hear live music and poetry readings and out to eat. My life has been almost culture-free since December. I NEED to get settled into ATL and find my niche.

I’ve finally decided to look forward to this move instead of dread it. I’ve started to see it as an opprotunity. I’ve gotten over the fact that I’m one of the last to move there (of my social circle). Hell, I’ve always been either WAY ahead of the game or a very late bloomer…no in-between.

I say all that just to say…pray for me. Pray for my patience. My direction as I am praying for discernment. I canmn get through this. Its just a small bump. I just KNOW tha once I get settled my life will resume…and I’ll be happy and fulfilled and stable.

That

Is

All.

Be Blessed Folks.
Peace 

2 Comments leave one →
  1. 04/01/2008 9:29 pm

    Everybody is pretty much dipping it low to ATL! Good luck with your apartment findings! I’ve been pretty successful w/ Craigslist but, I’ve never used it to find an apartment but, you should be able to grab some pretty good leads on there. When you go be sure to soak some nice weather for me and everybody else back in the “D”.

  2. 14KT Solid Gold. permalink
    04/02/2008 5:34 am

    Truthfully, I knew it would only be a matter of time before you made that move because EVERYTIME I would read your blogs in the past, ATL was calling your name. Maybe it was just whispering sweet nothings or it was really trying to tell you something. You shall find out soon. In the meantime, I will definitely be praying for you that God gives you revival in your life and direction in the decisions you make. I have no doubt you will settle and find your niche quicker than you expect 🙂 HUGS.

Leave a Reply

