Skip to content

Look Out Cool World…

06/07/2008

There are some kernels in the pot. They are soaking and submerging in the veggie oil and the heat is on high…pretty soon…its gonna start POP-POP-POPPIN’! Pretty horrible analogy, I know. But work with me here.

My recent mediation (read: starring out into space with my thumb in my mouth) have lead me to believe that MY TIME is coming. My ultimate purpose in life will soon reveal itself. You know…that thing you’d ALL day for FREE. Yeah, I’ve been praying to find THAT thing. Not really knowing where to start. I’ve already told you about the submission to various publications and workshops. But what am I supposed to do in the meantime?

 
First Edition of Industry Crusher Magazine
Well, in the last three days, I’ve spoken with two friends who have decided to include me in a couple AMAZING projects.

B. Houston is rearing up to put out the second edition of “INDUSTRY CRUSHER” magazine. And I’ve been fingered to conduct interviews with some of the music/fashion/entertainment industry’s up and coming producers, artists and designers. I look forward to it! I’m nervous because I want to do well. I want to ask RELEVANT questions that people ACTUALLY want to know the answers to. I want find a way to conduct my interviews that is DIFFERENT from anyone else. A way to write up these interviews that grabs the reader and makes them REMEMBER the quotes, REMEMBER the talent and want to know more. AND (humbly I say) makes them want to read more that I write.

Pressure’s on becuase this project is headed up by sucha good friend of mine. She KNOWS me and she KNOWS about my trouble with follow thru and yet she has entrusted such a large part of the content to me, even though this is HER vision. So pray for me on that folks.

 

My OTHER home gurl, ASIA of NOZOMI LIVEhas an INCREDIBLE exhibit coming up called AFRO GYPSY. It the telling of OUR stories as black women as we face challenges and deal with the “FIGHT or FLIGHT” instinct. Its a show with such a culturally relevant subject matter. The AFRO GYPSY exhibit starts with a preview at the Second Annual I GOT SOUL Music Conference in Dallas, TX. Asia is such a DOPE ass artist. I’ve been in AWE of her and her creative process for about three years now. Well SHE has included me in HER project, putting me in charge of finding a way to get to the core of the BLACK WOMAN experience. Coaxing it out of participants and helping those ladies to slide their experience onto video. Its contemporary black art at its finest and I’m humbled to be a part of it.

So, be on the look out for me and my digital recorder and my digi-cam. Ladies, sistahs, wombyn, mommas, aunties, grannies: I’m coming for YOUR experiences. I wanna hear..no… FEEL your experience as a BLACK WOMBan.

 Its BRILLIANT. I LOVE Asia and Maisha , another DOPE ARTIST, for the idea and the energy and the vision.

SO…that’s what’s poppin’ Cool World. Bear with me if I’m distant in coming weeks. I’ll be doing some travelling (Dallas, ATL, NYC?). I’ll definitely attempt to keep you all posted. Pray for myt FOCUS and DIRECTION. Pray for my drive and excitement and energy to stay intact.

Peace Cool World

4 Comments leave one →
  1. nakedculture permalink
    06/07/2008 9:27 pm

    http://nakedculture.wordpress.com/
    LOOK AT THE NEW CULTURE BLOG THAT BARES ALL

  2. 06/07/2008 10:03 pm

    I’ve been craving the need to stir it up and get my hand into some new things.
    I am happy for you and all of these upcoming projects. You will shine, my dear. Speak it, see it, feel it. It’s already yours. Claim it!

    P.S. love that Afro gypsy pic. I have that tattoo (in red on your pic) on the back of my neck.

  3. 06/07/2008 11:42 pm

    Looking forward to reading those interview!

  4. yonna permalink
    06/08/2008 2:17 am

    well Star…if you decide that you wanna stop in the DC area…give me a call. I have a VERY comfy futon with your name on it…and whatever you need…im here. So glad Asia is getting this idea up and off the ground…i remember her mentioning it to me awhile back, and I thought it was dope back then…

    be safe in those travels woman!

Leave a Reply

