Skip to content

Changin’ and Rearrangin’…

06/09/2008

My day started at 4am. I woke up, showered, and headed to Detroit airport so that I could fly to work in Atlanta. I had a 12:36 showtime.

Thanks to the weather in Detroit yesterday…EVERY FLIGHT WAS OVER SOLD! And since I, as an employee of the airline, fly stand by…that means that I haven’t been able to get on. I’ve been at the airport for nine hours now. I missed the flight I was supposed to work from Atlanta to Baltimore. I now have THREE missed trips. (i.e. no call, no show….even though I DID call. That’s just the way it works in this industry). My job is hanging by a thread. And I AM NOT a happy camper.

I am begining to wonder if I am sabotaging myself with my thinking. I subscribe to the belief that what you THINK is what comes into being. Some folks call it THE SECRET. I’ve been THINKING a lot lately that I’m ready to do something else. Something more full filling. Plus, I work my butt off only to still struggle to pay bills. I’m too poor to use my flight benefits. My job treats me like I’m expendable. As one of my fellow flight attendants so eloquently put it “I’m too smart for this“.  So, has my train of THOUGHT made these complications manifest in my working life? Because I KNOW  I won’t quit my job until I have something else…And I won’t actively LOOK for something else as long as I’m working here. Mostly because I don’t wanna loose my health, dental and FLIGHT benefits.  

Why won’t someone just PAY ME to maintain this blog? Or to GO BACK TO SCHOOL? As long as I am able to pay my rent, car note and phone bill…I’M GOOD.

SO, COOL WORLD. I’m calling on you.

I need a job. I need a job that pays well…challenges me…and allows me to be CREATIVE. Folks ask me all the time; What do I do well? I WRITE. I SPEAK. And THAT is what I was born to do. I know this. How can I channel those talents into COLD HARD CASH?
COOL WORLD,
Keep your eyes open and your ears to the ground. I need something CREATIVE, fulfilling and challenging. I type 40+ words a minute. I have a very pleasant phone voice. I’m experienced with event planning, working with youth, writing and editing, public speaking, customer service, promotions and project management. I’m a reader, writer and speaker. If you know of ANYTHING! PLEASE. Let me know. You can email me at my personal email:
Crystal_S_McMillian@yahoo.com

I’m SERIOUS.

Peace.

 

UPDATE:
Somehow…I got the BRIGHT idea to fly to Cincinnati in order to get to Atlanta. When I flew in there was one seat open on the 70 seat capacity ,4:45 flight. By the time I got to the gate…that flight was delayed. No problem. There were 70  seats on the 7:25 flight. Guess what happened NEXT Cool World? The 4:45 CANCELLED due to weather in Chicago (where the plane was coming from) and those 70 folks from that flight are now booked on the 7:25 flight! So guess who is number 21 on the STANDBY list. Not to mention I’ve been lugging around this 19″ 24″ 12″ 40lb Travel Pro bag to about eight gates in two states!

Three cheers for Murphy’s Law! 

Hip-Hip…

Hip-Hip…

Hip-Hip..

say it with me now: BOOOOOOOOOOOOO! 

One Comment leave one →
  1. Sal permalink
    06/13/2008 10:57 pm

    Try the AALC. Stands for the African American Leadership Commission, they are a group of organizers, they like to talk, write, type, and teach people. On top of organize groups. Your words could motivate masses I am sure.

Leave a Reply

