Skip to content

HO-JO a NO-NO!

06/12/2008

Anyone who has been watching the news over the last few days (or gone outside) knows that the weather has been very unpredictable. This, in turn, affects airline travel. My Wednesday was supposed to be short and smooth. It turned out to be anything but. As a result, I was stuck in ATL last night. Usually, I’ll crash with a home gurl or get a room at the Quality Inn and Suites. Well….due to all the cancelled flights, my favorite cheap, clean hotel was sold out. I ended up getting a room at the College Park Howard Johnson.

I should have known better. All I had was $57 and the room was $45. I assumed that because the HO JO has a national ad campaign, that it would be clean and quiet. I got to the hotel at about 1 am (after waiting nearly an hour for the courtesy shuttle). The front desk clerk was very friendly. He smiled warmly at me exposing his few teeth, most of which protruded from between his nicotine blackened lips.  I got my room key and silently prayed that it would be QUIET, as I planned on returning to the airport at 5am for a 7 am flight home.

I get into the room…and I am shocked (not really) and appalled! The beds are barely made. The box springs are filthy and fully visible beneath the thrifty, cigarette burned bed spreads. Of the four lamps in the room, only two had light bulbs. One of the lamps had a shade that looked like it had been melted…microwaved maybe? There was no smoke detector, only wires hanging from the ceiling where one used to be. The tub was peeling. Yes, the rubber covering, which may have been white at one time, was now stained and peeling.

And then…I pulled back the sheets. They appeared to be clean at first inspection. AND THEN I looked at the pillows. Long, black strands of hair! UGH!!!

By now, its 1:30 in the morning, I have to be up at 4:30 for a 5am shuttle. So, rather than going BACK down to the front desk, I spread my personal throw over the sheets and climb into bed, cautious avoiding the bedspread. I sleep sitting straight up, with the lights on, and my uniform still on. At least it was quiet though, huh?

I got up at 4am. Brushed my teeth (only to discover that the sink doesn’t drain) and returned to the airport. Where I am now waiting to catch a flight back to MY house so that I can get some real sleep.

Definitely time for a change of occupation. TO make matter worse. The $45 I spent COULD have been spent on my phone bill, which I discovered was OFF this morning when I tried to check my voice mail.

2 Comments leave one →
  1. 06/13/2008 1:20 am

    Damn

  2. 06/13/2008 1:51 am

    That hotel sounds disgusting. Thank God, you didn’t have to stay too long.

Leave a Reply

