Skip to content

Livin’ my life like it’s Golden…

06/17/2008

Hello COOL WORLD!

Cool Crys here. RE-freshed. RE-newed. RE-committed. I’ve had an amazing weekend. Saturday morning, bright and DAMNED early, I flew to Phoniex to go to hit the Vortex tour with my baby sister. I’ve been looking forward to seeing THE ROOTS and ERYKAH BADU for a couple months now. I purposely forfeited the Detroit show just to experience both performers with my #5(of 4 siblings. YOURS TRULY is #1). Tickets cost a bit more than I planned to pay…since we purchased them from Ticketmaster the day of the show. But no matter. It was an amazing show!

My mom has lived in Phoenix for four years and I had never actually SEEN the black population. I’d heard that they live in South Phoenix…well my mom lives in Gilbert…call it Desert Suburbia. so it was wonderful to see that there are nappy heads and hip-hop aficionado’s even in AZ.

The ROOTS were amazing as always. Although Black THought really should work on conditioning himself a bit better. He got winded about a quarter of the way though the show. ANd if it weren’t for Captain Kirk and the tuba player and ? love….IT wouldn’t have been nearly as awesome of a show. HIT THE GYM TARIQ! Do some breathing excercises. Get a vocal coach. SOMETHIGN! Cause your lyrics are the hottest in the game …but ONLY if we can hear them.

‘Cause Ms. Badu (aka. Madula Oblongota, aka ANNIE aka Ease’m Please’m) did a TWO HOUR set dressed in a polyester red, grey and plaid LONG SLEEVED suit. Complete with red button down, Astronomical Afro, and plaid tie. ANd she didn’t get winded AT ALL. In fact, she didn’t even appear to sweat. It was AT LEAST 90 degrees out there in the sun. Maybe 85 once the sun went down.


I love that we can sense her growth as an artist and as a person. She went CRAZY on a drum machine…incorporated her personal music from her mac…and has the energy of a middle school student. It was all we couldl do, as an audience, to keep up with her.
I may have ruined the show for myself havening watched here on the concert channel a couple weeks ago. She did almost an identical show. My sister was thouroughly impressed though. ANd THAT is what’s important. Badu did talk about some real shyt though, about “FEAR AND CONSUMERISM”, which I plan to address fully on a later date.

I few back from AZ at 6am Monday morning so that I could be back in Detroit in time to see BARAK OBAMA at the Joe Louis arena. Six of my girlfriends and I along with a couple mentees and nieces rolled DEEP. It was such an exaulting feeling to see 25,000 Detroiters gathered in support of OUR candidate.
That’s how it feels. Like Obama is OUR candidate. For once, I feel A PART of this process. I feel that I can BELIEVE again. As if I could write a letter to THIS persident and expect a real response. There’s something very retro about. Folks are comparing him to Kennedy. And I see why. America would mourn if something happened to Obama. Can we say that for BUSH? Could we say that for Clinton( don’t answer that)? Or Regan? Obama feels like our fathers and uncles and husbands and boyfriends. He feels like a REAL person, but also an enigma.

Don’t think for a minute that I have stars in my eyes though. I felt that his speech in Detroit was more of what we’ve been hearing for the last 15 months. Campaign promises with no real explanations as to HOW he’s gonna pay for health care for everyone or HOW we’ll get out of Iraq or HOW we’ll come up with a new source of energy or provide jobs and wealth for America’s working poor. I’d like to start hearing about the HOW now. Not just the “WHEN I’m ELECTED PRESIDENT…”

Its been a GREAT time. I feel like I’m living again. Tonight I go to Belly Dance at the Syience:your favorite producer who you’ve probably never heard of, Abyss the Poet, and a pair of awesome novelists out of ATL namedLisa and Sideequah.

 

Keep ya eyes peeled COOL WORLD

and in my next blog: How exactly does one PEEL one’s EYES….?

MMMMMMMmmmmmm

 

PEACE

7 Comments leave one →
  1. 06/17/2008 8:01 pm

    Shoot you’re definitely living sista. To be able to fly to another city to see a concert with your sis. That’s Wassup! I know the Roots did there thang. I saw em’ @ The State Theatre before and that as one of the best concerts I ever saw. One day, I’ll get to see my girl badu.

  2. Adesoye permalink
    06/17/2008 8:56 pm

    Peace sis:

    I am totally feeling you on the e. badu concert tip. I saw her back in May in Greensboro as an early bornday gift. I was a fan of hers before but had no idea of how much of an awesome performer she is. And the Roots rocked it out as well. I was thoroughly entertained and inspired.

  3. Bcam permalink
    06/18/2008 1:50 am

    I’m glad you got to travel and see your gurl I know you have been looking forward to this for a long time. Lets hope Obama does at least half the things that he promises. It sounds like a weekend that you needed. Stay cool

    -Peace

  4. 06/20/2008 1:18 am

    I AM SO EXCITED THAT YOU SAW THE ROOTS AND THE DU!!!! I am also happy that you feel like you are living again.

    I wish I had seen you at the Obama Rally! It would have been good to feel some of your energy again.

    Keep up the COOL Blog!

    Peace.

  5. 06/20/2008 1:20 am

    OH!!! And I look forward to hearing more about “FEAR AND CONSUMERISM.” I will be looking!

  6. 06/20/2008 7:05 pm

    #5 here….

    I’m glad that we got to experience the show together! Thank you #1 cause you made it possible for me to have that phenomenal experience! Our 1st Roots show together (your 2nd Badu but my 1st) and it was fantastic! I still can’t believe I got to touch her! I’ll stop being struken now but I can’t even tell you how much it meant to share that with you! It would’nt have been the same if you were’nt there!

    Lookin forward to the next blog…I’m addicted!

    Peace & Love,
    #5

  7. Qui permalink
    06/30/2008 2:14 am

    Yeah she killed it in Detroit too, especially when she came out at the end in a stocking cap, stretch pants, and a cut off T, lol. I’m so mad I wasn’t in town to see Obama, but like you, he has gotten me so energized about this campaign, I now watch CNN and MSNBC on a regular, lol!

Leave a Reply

