Skip to content

The grind…

06/22/2008

I’ve been on it!

I has such big plans yesterday. I was going to finish my interviews with the artists for INDUSTRY CRUSHER magazine. I planned on completing my 500 word write up for MVREMIX.com on why ANDRE 300 deserves to be on the list of the TOP FIVE emcees since 1993.

I had a writing class with Broadside Press followed by a meeting with the president of the board. They are ready to take the org to another level and would like me to be a part of it. I’m humbled and a bit afraid. I ended sitting in on that meeting until nearly 6pm! So I didn’t get the other things done.

Time management. Gotta work on it.
To top things off. I got to my house…after being gone for a week, only to discover that my lights had been turned off. True, they were on illegally in the first place, but DAMN! I’d just spent my last $60 on groceries so that I could pack lunch when I go to work for the rest of the month. I lost all my chicken and turkey from the freezer, plus the celery, milk, eggs, cheese, mayo, onions and bread from the fridge. SUCKS! Ce La Vie. No one ever said that the life of a writer was an easy one.

On a positive note, I got to hang out with my HONEY and a couple of my girlfriends and their significant others in an impromptu bowling expedition. I lost miserably. I enjoyed myself without the burden of knowing that I didn’t have power.
TODAY was a lot more productive. A few interviews had to be conducted via email…not the way I prefer to do things, but effective none-the-less. I also finished my write up on ICE COLD and mailed that in.
So…all in all…its been a productive weekend. Tomorrow. Its back on the 9-5 (more like 5-10) hustle of shuttling middle-class America all over the country.
Until next time…

3 Comments leave one →
  1. 06/23/2008 11:28 pm

    Cool Blog.

    Andre 3000 as one of the top 5 emcees since 1993?

    Hmm..

    1. Nas
    2. Kool Keith
    3. Ghostface
    4. Busta
    5. Biggie

    Who gets knocked off that list?

    -Stal

  2. A.Head aka Thorough_brotha permalink
    06/25/2008 2:42 am

    “Bubblin’ ”
    when crazy mess like this starts happening, that big bang is right around the corner. Stories like these will translate well into screenplay introductions…I see it now, sour-milk-smell-face and all :p

  3. 06/26/2008 5:28 am

    So you must have been one of the ones to drive Dre over the top of our poll over at Soul Bounce? 🙂

    You are really grinding girl! It’s an inspiration! You and me both gotta work on time management. It’s going to be my downfall.

    I’m humbled and a bit afraid.

    Very telling statement. I need to write a post on this.

Leave a Reply

