Skip to content

In the heart of the Metropolis…

07/10/2008

Ok.

I’m a late bloomer. I’m often times either the very FIRST to find out about an artist or a trend  but more often than not…I’m the LAST to know. That said. I’m definitely diggin’ this Janelle Monae chick. I knew that I’d heard of her before, but after viewing about a half-dozen YOUTUBE videos…I am officially hooked.  I’m just glad that I found out about her BEFORE her album….ahem…I mean ..SUITE drops on August 12th.

I vaguely remember her name being thrown around in cahoots with OUKAST ( one of my most favorite groups of all time). In fact, I found out SHE was the voice on a couple IDLEWILD tracks. Her sound is THAT classic and THAT new. I’m moved…almost like I was when I first heard Lyzel in E flat. THAT joint woke me up out of my sleep. This songtress has similar power over me. August 12th can’t come fast enough. If I can keep my job long enough. I’m SOOO trying to be at the album release in New York. I will use all resources available to me to make it happen! Who’s down?

So, check her out. Janelle Monae is officially COOLIN’ with CRYS!
THIS is the SONG that did it to me!
Sincerely Jane” – I love it so much that I’ve posted two different versions. One is LIVE from the Filmore in PHILLY.

Enjoy!

3 Comments leave one →
  1. supaNOVI400 permalink
    07/10/2008 5:39 am

    She is really cool. I Am excited about black music again!

    Thanks so much for sharing!

  2. 07/10/2008 5:52 am

    Yea I like her too. I keep telling people good music exists!

  3. 07/12/2008 3:57 am

    I first got up on Janelle Monae in Japan and fell completely in love with her style after seeing her in the Morris Brown video. I went out and bought everything with her on it, she also has songs on the Got Purp album. I can’t wait till the CD drops!!!

Leave a Reply

