Skip to content

Post #60: The interview

07/11/2008

Peace Cool World:

WIth the exception of a few things going on IN my house, everything is getting back to normal. My life is changing (again). I am in a constant state of transition.

How’s this for irony? One of the reasons that I didn’t move to ATL back in May was because I couldn’t afford to move my stuff and I didn’t want to leave it. (Sofa, bed, book shelves etc…). There are circumstances going on now that may force me to get rid of all those things anyway. Crazy right? Email me…I’ll hip you to what’s going on it you want.

I went to interview for the non-profit to day. I believe that they had at least six applicants. They held interviews every thirty minutes from 2pm to 5pm. I’m confident that I did well. It helps that I meet nearly ALL of the job requirements. They asked me if I’d be able to start on Monday! It’s a job in social justice/human services, which is what I studied in school. It would allow me to be creative, write, speak, organize work shops and forums, connect with the community via students, parents, and organizations. It pays pretty decently, though I would still need a supplemental income. The job is only until December but at that time it has the potential to become a full time gig.

When I interviewed, I was just going to see what was up. But the more I think about it…the more I want to do it. I could cut my hours at work so that I’d still have my flight benefits. Eventually I could go part time (six days a month) and pick up a side gig at a bookstore or small publication (since that IS the ultimate goal anyway). Working on social services gave me a lot to write about.

Plus, if (when) I get this job, my life will feel like it has some purpose other than to serve myself and pay the rent. As an Aquarius…it’s important to me to do work that is both financially fulfilling AND contributes to the well being of humanity (mostly the low-income minority population in our cities). This job realizes all those goals.

So, Keep me in your prayers COOL WORLD. As always, as my life begins to look more like the life I want to lead.

PEACE

PS.
Special shout out to a THOUROUGH BROTHA ANT HEAD!!!!Good lookin’ out Bro! make sure you check out his wife’s new blog Mocha Mommy on the Go!!

3 Comments leave one →
  1. 07/11/2008 3:41 am

    Thanks for the shot out, and may you be blessed with the position you truly want Crys!! Much love to you sis!

  2. 07/11/2008 8:42 pm

    Good luck! I hope you get it. It’s not too often that we get job opportunities that are fulfilling!

  3. Qui permalink
    07/12/2008 4:07 am

    Good luck Crys…..

Leave a Reply

