Skip to content

Family Reunion…

07/14/2008

Cool WOrld,
I just came home from my very first family reunion! Yes, prior to last weekend…I had never been to one. Technically it wasn’t MY family reunion, but my step-dad is the very inclusive type. He and my mother have been married for four years and he INSISTED that I attened. Proclaiming tha “We’re ALL FAMILY”. Now, some of his folks weren’t as welcoming…but as the weekend wore on, they warmed up to my two sisters and I.

IT was really nice to be around children. My mother’s family doesn’t have any (except for my 10 year old second cousins). The elders in the family weren’t able to travel to St. Louis for the event, but plenty of uncles, aunties, and cousins were there. We saw “THE ARCH”, the purpose of which is completely beyond me.

Any way…I’m back in Detroit for the week. More posts to come soon.

In the meantime…
BE Peace, Cool World.

2 Comments leave one →
  1. vivrant thang permalink
    07/15/2008 2:29 am

    Funny. My “step-father’s” (think I’m too old for one of those so I prefer my mother’s hubby) reunion was this weekend as well. I boycotted. He knew better than to “insist.”

    Ah the joys of being a grown ass, self-sufficient woman I suppose. LOL! I have to remember things like this when I wish I was a kid again.

  2. 07/15/2008 6:11 am

    Family reunions are usually dope with a little bit of drama. Nice to see it turned out cool……

Leave a Reply

