Skip to content

This world done changed so much since I…

07/14/2008

been away at the family reunion. I went to ALL HIP HOP.com and FINALLY saw the dreaded NEW YORKER cover. Here it is! ITS APPALLING!!! Ca you believe this mess? My blood is boiling, however, I will attempt to intelligently address exactly WHY this COVER is so wrong.

First off, its a COVER. This is NOT one of the political cartoons featured in an “opinons” section of a local publication. Its not even one of the satirical illustrations often printed in THE NEW YORKER. This is THE COVER of a NATIONAL magazine.

Secondly, Obama has already established that HE IS NOT MUSLIM. He has affrimed his Christian faith. So what, his Daddy was born in a Muslim nation.  Obama’s reliegion is totally irrelevant…the point is that he’s already addressed the issue. Shame on the New Yorker for creating propoganda, in the name of humor,  that brings the issue back to the forefront when we obviously need to be focused on REAL issues with the election just fifteen or so weeks away.

Third, where do they get off turning Michelle into a caricature of 1960-esque “black power” militantcy. She is an academic, a scholar, a mother, and AMERICAN. Don’t get me wrong. I don’t find anything wrong with militancy…however, I resent this representation of Mrs. Obama as such. AND If I remember correctly, it is the CURRENT administration as well as one Mr. John McCain who seem to be gun crazy (i.e. IRAQ war).

Fourth, the burning of the American Flag…that’s just too much. The New Yorker is arguing that the entire debauchal was meant to be SATIRE…but its only satire if READERS think its satire and they/we don’t.

Fifth, and lastly, call it what you will, but I am AWAKE enough to recognize the attempt at associating OBAMA with OSAMA in the subconcious of the American people. Thus the mantle painting of the U.S.’s illusive (or perhaps imaginary) enemy.

The thing is, THIS image…is exactly what so many older, more-conservative and even down right RACIST Americans are afraid of. On one hand, I do understand how presenting it for dialogue and dissection may remove some of the enigma…some of the taboo. But it IS NOT funny. Not to me. Not yet.

The New Yorker should be ashamed of themselves. For this reason I HAVE NOT included a link to the magazine in this post. What’s completely ironic (or complete intentional is that THIS in the same month that Italian Vogue puts out issue featuring all BLACK models.  I recently found out that appearantly, July and August are slow months in the magazine business. I guess the only way to sell copy is to slap some black faces on ’em.

Sincerely,
Sick and Disgusted
Peace

Perhaps I’ll come back in a few minutes a post on Erykah Badu and all the rumors surrounding her alleged pregnancy with HER MAN Jay Electronica’s baby. Erykah says she’s PREGNANT WITH INSULTS.
This thing has been all over Media Takeout and All Hip Hop.com. I even saw it on Facebook. On second thought…maybe I WON’T come back to post about it. Maybe you can just click links and read about it for yourself.
Peace

9 Comments leave one →
  1. 07/14/2008 11:39 pm

    Crys, I totally see where you are coming from with the New Yorker cover, but I wanted to share this.

    Going back to your point, “but its only satire if READERS think its satire and they/we don’t.” That comment it why I think the cover is an issue, not because it is insensitive, but because I don’t think people will get the true point because the timing is wrong. People won’t think it is satire because they are not as engaged in the process enough to see the satirical nature of it.

    For example, I don’t know if the New Yorker was painting the Obamas as Muslim extremists loyal to America’s enemies and militant Black Panther trouble makers. What I do know that with the racial climate and all the Imus’ and McLaughlin’s in the world, people should think twice about stepping to us like that.

    I see nothing wrong with the cover, personally, because I get it. But, not everyone will. Satire is not supposed to be funny; it is supposed to make us think. All too often, we refuse to do that.

    Peace.

  2. Qui permalink
    07/15/2008 1:07 am

    The only thing funny about this photo is that people will go to any lengths to put fear into the minds of Americans, and prey on our insecurities. I hope that most of us will see this for what it is, a sad and distasteful attempt at being funny, and let them know that we can think for ourselves, without their influence. Funny thing is people are so determined to make them out to be too proud, and too educated, too out of touch, too liberal, not liberal enough, but they are in fact the American dream. I guess they would rather they were dopefiends, to feed into the stereotypes, but then it would be “get off welfare and get an education”. They used the oppurtunities they had and did what many of them complain we don’t do enough of, then they are demonized for it. Truth is either way we can’t win with the naysayers, but thank God most of us could care less and continue to strive for ourselves.

  3. 07/15/2008 1:45 am

    I’m glad you broke it down like this Crys because I really had no words. I talked about it on my blog and my radio show but seriously, I’m so shocked, disgusted, and upset by such ignorance that it is to the point that I have no more words. What else can you say to such blatant racism and false depictions?! Thank you for your words. I too am sick and disgusted.

    I also talk about Eryka on the radio show….

    http://www.blogtalkradio.com/TheFUHour

  4. vivrant thang permalink
    07/15/2008 2:36 am

    Very well put Crys. I have nothing more to add…and I’m too exhausted to with all the ranting I did last week. I wanted to talk about Bernie Mac and his ig’nant self but I need to try to keep it light this week…for my own sanity!

    Erykah…lawdhamercy. I may blog on that later this week…or tonight if I have the energy. My first thought was to say Badu…come on now. Don’t do this ish again! This is out of control. I was judging her. But after some though and reading her missive, NO ONE has the right to judge her. As long as we (the system) don’t have to feed those kids, who cares how many she pops out?! She seems like a great mother and I don’t think she deserved to be attacked like that. I didn’t see the original post but I can tell is was deplorable. All this she’s a role model business – whatever. Your kids should have YOU as a role model. Make sure your own closet is clean before talking about other folks.

    So essentially, all I care about is the music. Bring on the USB!

  5. 07/15/2008 6:19 am

    What’s crazy to me the depiction of the Barack and Michelle on The New Yorker cover don’t surprise me at all. I think we tend to forget that we live in America sometimes. I agree that cover was down right disgusting, awful, racist, and bull shit. Yes, Crys you hit it on the nose. They want so badly to associate Barack with Osama. I’mma post a lil video from my girl Diva, which I think its the truth. It hurts but, it’s the truth. bottom line .

    The cover of that magazine blatantly shows this. I can’t get upset with shit like this anymore because it doesn’t surprise me. I’m very well informed of where I live and what Black ppl mean to this country. Sorry folks it’s 2008 but, it’s still the same. I can’t even get mad at this stuff. I’m kind of numb to it. It’s fucked up that it is this way. This is exactly the reason why I purposely stay ignorant to the media/politics. I don’t watch CNN, Fox, and most covering of the election because it’s all bullshit. Peace

  6. 07/15/2008 6:19 am

    Guess the youtube video didn’t show but umm if you wanna see it ,it’s called watch ya back Barack by Amanda Diva. you can find it on Youtube or google

  7. 07/15/2008 9:09 pm

    I saw AMANDA DIVA with her warning words. That shyt was REAL! I’ll post it.

  8. Bcam permalink
    07/16/2008 2:21 am

    Cool Crys you are right on as usual on this issue. Your blogs are right on the money and I’m glad there people like you that are “awake” writing about whats going on out here.

    They will try anything to sway the minds of those in the undecided category. Just 2 months ago he was being rediculed for being in a “racist” church now hes a muslim again. What else does he have to do to prove his patriotism.

  9. Eric permalink
    07/21/2008 7:50 pm

    The New Yorker cover crossed all kind of lines, but hey, this is America. Black people and other people of color should know the gloves have come off and the true racist and sexist face of our country is staring us down.

    Ms. Badu is a queen to me. I hope the relationship with Jay Elec lasts and things work out for her. I also hope that the bun in the oven does not delay the release of the Return of the Ankh. Selfish, right? She should’ve not made New Amerykah so Hot…I’m fiending for another hit.

Leave a Reply

