Skip to content

Insomniac theater…

07/31/2008

Peace Cool World,

I do believe that I am becoming an insomniac of sorts. This time, I flew into ATL at 9 pm on Wednesday night. I couldn’t afford to get a hotel room so I stayed in the company’s crew room all night. Thing is, I left my phone at home and was afraid to sleep because I didn’t have an alarm clock. Soooo…another sleepless night for the cool one.

I’ve had a few interesting conversations with the invisible folk. By invisible, I mean the burgandy clad sanitation workers in charge of cleaning up after the entitled passengers at Hartsfield-Jackson. Gotta keep it ‘opening day fresh’ right? These folks push brooms, carts, mops, and airport gossip twenty-four hours a day. You’d probably never see them if you passed thru ATL on your way to Vegas or Miami or Cancun. But they are here. They move at a leisurely pace. Why speed? The mess isn’t going anywhere. Once one spill is mopped up and the “Caution: Wet Floor” sign posted, another puddle pops up in its place.

They’re a colorful bunch, these custodial technicians. Tonight I’ve heard all about one woman’s husband going to jail for accidentally stealing batteries from a big-box retailer. Spoke with another woman about how her family has cheatedher out of her inheirtance…even though her mother died almost fifteen years ago.

And still another sistah talked to me all about how her husband’s baby-mamma is a lazy, pueto rican and black, 300lb DIVA-bitch!

There are so many stories here. I’ll be thinking of them all as I fight to stay awake today.

Luckily I have a four and a half hour break after my Houston turn. But you know me…I’ll probably be right back here with you all during that time. Plus I have four more music reviews to write for http://www.SOULCOMMUNE.com…where the SOULFUL gather (shameless plug)

So until then Cool World…

2 Comments leave one →
  1. 08/04/2008 6:55 am

    Wow. usually when you stop and talk to anybody you may end up getting some real interesting stories. BTW, Thanks for the website!

  2. 08/13/2008 1:22 am

    Great blog!

Leave a Reply

