Skip to content

Ginger and lemon…

09/17/2008

I’m sick Cool World!

It started with a tickle in the back of my throat on Saturday night. On Monday I had a wicked cough. Tuesday my nose alternated between draining and stuffing up. And Today I woke up with a head ache. UGH!

I’ve started taking Tylenol Severe Cold. But I hate it. All the over-the-counter meds do is inhibit my immune system so that I don’t FEEL the symptoms…it doesn’t make the sickness go away.

So, I’ve taken a page from the Adaora Bandele handbook and taken my health into my own hands. I put my self on a vitamin C regiment a few weeks ago. So I upped the anty (ante?) from 1000 mg to 2000 mg.

Last night, rather than buying “herbal” tea..I bought fresh ginger and lemons honey from the PUBLIX in Midtown ATL. I boiled the ginger and lemon for about thirty minutes and then drank the mixture (with a bit of honey, of course).

THe FIRE root did exactly what I hoped it would. When I’m sick, I find myself chanting…wll not so much chanting as humming. I makes me feel better…like the vibrations resonate in my core and shake some healin’. Between the ginger-fire tea and the hummin’… I woke up this morning feeling almost normal. I took a cup to go! And started the last day of my trip wonderfully.

Unfortunately…I didn’t have a way to bottle my concoction. So now I’m at the airport and I’m misreable again 😦 I’ve had some egg drop soup and I’ll have some generic tea once I get on my plane. Good thing I have short flights today…and I get to go home tonight. This sick shyt is for the birds …

Peace.

2 Comments leave one →
  1. 09/17/2008 6:53 pm

    Ginger and lemon always does the trick. Hope you feel better.

  2. woodward star walker permalink
    01/14/2009 9:29 pm

    awwwwww

Leave a Reply

