Skip to content

Rest in Power, Rest in PEACE “Mama Africa”

11/17/2008

Peace Cool World…
I know that I’m a few days late…but better late than never.
R.I.P Miriam Makeba.
I remember when she was on the Cosby show…clicking her tongue in the dialect that SOUTH PARK parodies so well. She was talking to Olivia about running away. I remember thinking then ( I had to be eleven or twelve years old), that THIS was a REAL AFRICA woman…as opposed to the emaciated, disease ridden skeletons I’d always seen on the “Save the Children” commercials.

Anyhoo…

Enjoy the video

“The music keeps going until the morning sun begins to shine…”– Mariam Makeba

And “THE CLICK SONG”

3 Comments leave one →
  1. Vio permalink
    11/17/2008 1:28 am

    I love this post! And the videos. I remember that the Cosby Show always had famous ppl on it and as soon as your blog began, I knew JUST what episode you were typing about. And I remember watching that episode wondering who that lady was and why was she famous and I never found out until this blog! And at that age, googling was the last on my mind and non-existent lol. thanks for this post!

  2. 11/17/2008 1:44 am

    No problem Vio. Glad to be of service. You can find alot of her music on I-tunes or Ares or Lime wire or what ever service you use.
    Be Peace and come back to see us at the CCC!

  3. 11/17/2008 5:09 pm

    Its seems like we lost a lot of people this year.

Leave a Reply

