Skip to content

Just because…

11/23/2008

black_women_thinking
Peace Cool World,
I’ve been a busy bee this week. Mostly flying. No major changes in my life. I do feel, however, that I’ve lost my writing voice. Maybe “misplaced” is a better word.
Its just that there are SO many things happening in the world everyday. By the time I’m able toform an opinion on one…there’s something new on the table. I know that the blogosphere nad teh digital world is DESIGNED to be fast paced…but I can’t keep up. It frustrates me. So I’ve buried myself in the world that DOES NOT change. BOOKS. I’m reading at least three right now.

Duma Key – Stephen King
Move Beyond the Colored line – Jacquelyn Rochell
Man Child in the Promised Land (for the third time) – Claude Brown

I’m also writing a bit..but mostly just fragmented paragraphs of narrative fiction. I’m never able to get past the first page. UGGGHHH!

SOOOooo…I took this survey from my guy BILLIONE. Its fun…and maybe it will help me to rediscover my voice.

Enjoy
Peace

1. What is your favorite word?

PEACE, WORD?

2. What is your least favorite word?
(phrase) “You’re not allowed to…”

3. What turns you on?
Compassion

4. What turns you off?
Possesiveness

5. What is your favorite curse word?
Mutha Fucka

6. What sound or noise do you love?
pages turning, keys clicking, pens scratching on paper
and Kids laughing

7. What sound or noise do you hate?
styrofoam rubbing on styrofoam

8. What profession other than your own would you like to attempt?
Improv comedy

9. What profession would you not like to attempt?
medcine

10. If Heaven exists, what would you like to hear God say when you arrive at the Pearly Gates?

“PEACE HOMIE!”

3 Comments leave one →
  1. 11/23/2008 1:41 am

    Hmmm. I use to write fiction a lot when I was younger. Over the years I’ve told myself that I don’t think fiction is for me anymore but, I still want to give it a shot and see what I come up with.

  2. 11/23/2008 1:41 am

    BTW, I’ll probably be stealing that questionaire soon lol

  3. 11/23/2008 4:17 am

    LMAO! I love it!

    I just think it’s funny that you can’t give one word answers! LOL. Too much in the brain… you are so eccentric, creative, and inspirational to have lost your voice. Perhaps you should just trust your voice. You got it babe, just get on the ball and trust your instincts.

    If all else fails, just remember that dress you wore to the Unity Ball that you made out of a piece of fabric, then write about that. Anyone who could “BADU” a dress like that could not possibly lose her voice. Maybe you sound a but different, but you are still there.

    Glennisha… I can’t wait to see what your responses are to the questions!

    Peace.

Leave a Reply

